7/100: View-Master

thumb_img_4887_1024

If I remember correctly, I owned one View-Master but I don’t remember what the reel was. Eitherways, I no longer have mine, it was given away. But I found two of them at fleamarkets, and I based my 7th cross stitch design on this red one.

thumb_img_5040_1024

This one was made in the 70s, it is red on one side and white on the other side. Very good condition if you ask me! I love the pop of blue for the turn button, the one I had was orange.

thumb_img_5043_1024

I also bought this black Sawyer one, made of a sturdier plastic. I believe it was made in the 40s, and still in very good condition.

thumb_img_5045_1024

I actually have never seen this one before and was very pleased to find themย at the fleamarket for a reasonable price. I’m now on the lookout for vintage Disney View-Master reels!

Someday I want to pass these on to my children and I hope they would enjoy playing with these toys that I used to play in my childhood, these View-Masters are so fragile now that I’m not sure if they’ll stand up to vigorous play..

 

Leave a Reply

